Amazing articles on just about every subject...

Education In Australia

( Originally Published 1912 )

School organization, while differing in details, has much in common throughout the States which make up the commonwealth.

Infant schools, with a two-year course, are found in New South Wales and Western Australia.

Elementary schools have five-year courses in South Australia, and six or seven in the other States.

Secondary schools are high schools continuing the work of the elementary school with a course of three or four years. There are no State secondary schools in South Australia or Western Australia.

There are four universities, Adelaide, Mel-bourne, Sydney, and Hobart. Larger than any of these is the neighboring University of New Zealand.

There are many technical schools of advanced grade, among them the School of Mines at Adelaide and the Technical College at Sydney. Four of the states have established agricultural colleges.

Home | More Articles | Email: